Staff Review: Canada by Richard Ford

I am not usually a fiction reader, but Richard Ford’s new book Canada is probably one of the best books I have EVER READ! I have never read a book where the characters stay with me all the time and I cannot wait to get back to reading about them. I am halfway through it, taking my time because every (short) chapter is so perfectly written, the setting is so clearly portrayed, and the story so riveting that I don’t want it to end and I can’t wait to pick it up and again be drawn into the story, so moving, so profound. All I can say is go online, read some of the reviews, and read this book. Here is an excerpt from the review in the New York Times: “Here are its opening lines: “First, I’ll tell about the robbery our parents committed. Then about the murders, which happened later. The robbery is the more important part, since it served to set my and my sister’s lives on the courses they eventually followed. Nothing would make complete sense without that being told first.” Ford has already won a Pulitzer Prize for fiction for his book Independence Day and he should win every possible prize for Canada. An amazing work.

This entry was posted in books, literary fiction, mystery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

