Literary Award Winners 2012

A list of recent literary award winners available at the library:

  • Man Booker Prize– is awarded every two years to a living author who has published a work of fiction in the English language.  The winner is Hilary Mantel’s Bring Up the Bodies.
  • Independent Publisher Book Awards (the “IPPYs”) are are intended to bring increased recognition to the thousands of exemplary independent, university, and self-published titles published each year.  The 2012 winner for literary fiction was Jaimy Gordon’s Lord of Misrule.
  • Hugo Award – is the most prestigious award for science fiction.  The 2012 award went to Among Others by Jo Walton.
  • National Book Award -the 2012 American literary prize for fiction goes to The Round House by Louise Erdrich.  The non-fiction 2012 award winner is Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo.
  • PEN /Faulkner Award-is a national prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year.  This year’s winning title is The Buddha in the The Attic.
  • Pulitzer Prize — wasn’t awarded in fiction this year.  The 2012 Non-Fiction winner is The Swerve:  How the World Became Modern by Stephen Greenblatt.
This entry was posted in literary fiction, literary winners 2012, Non Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s