For Downton Abbey Fans

Now that Season 3 of Downton Abbey is starting to wind down, if you are looking for something to tide you over here are a few new titles you might be interested in  reading:

mistress of my fateMistress of My Fate  by Hallie Rubenhold- Set during a period of revolution and turmoil is the first book in a trilogy about Henrietta Lightfoot, a young woman who was abandoned as a baby and raised alongside her cousins, noble children of a lord and lady. At just sixteen years old, circumstance and a passionate love affair tear Henrietta away from everything she knows, leading to a new life fending for herself on the streets of 18th century London as a courtesan, gambler, and spirited intellect of the city. (summary from library catalog)

habits of the houseHabits of the House by Fay Weldon -“From the award-winning novelist and writer of Upstairs Downstairs, the launch of a brilliant new trilogy about what life was really like for masters and servants before the world of Downton Abbey. As the season of 1899 comes to an end, the world is poised on the brink of profound, irrevocable change. (summary from library catalog.)

ashfordaffairThe Ashford Affair by Lauren Willig -From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Willig comes The Ashford Affair, a page-turning novel about two women in different eras, and on different continents, who are connected by one deeply buried secret. From the inner circles of British society to the skyscrapers of Manhattan and the red-dirt hills of Kenya, the never-told secrets of a woman and a family unfurl.  (summary from library catalog)

Aashendenshenden by Elizabeth Wilhide -Perfect for fans of “Downton Abbey,” a beautifully atmospheric novel about an English country house and the people who inhabit it, upstairs and downstairs, over the course of 240 years. (summary from library catalog)

Advertisements
This entry was posted in books, domestic fiction, historical fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For Downton Abbey Fans

  1. The Last Summer by Judith Kinghorn is also an excellent book for those who enjoy Downton! :D

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s