Patron Review: The Bible and the Ancient East by Cyrus H. Gordon and Gary A. Rendsburg

It’s August 10th and the summer reading program is officially over. But I had to add this bibleandancientneareastbook to the list. I found it in the stacks at our own Newburgh Free Library and reading it has been mind-changing. Since the 70’s current archaeological work has brought “new discoveries that allow us to fill in the gaps of our knowledge, of both Israel in particular and the ancient Near East in general.” I dare to say that I feel that I have a better appreciation of what the Bible means to my life, but I also feel that I am beginning to understand the the current situation from a more developed perspective. This book is not heavy handed. The writers are experts who don’t have to showcase their knowledge. They just tell a story. I cannot imagine that anyone who reads this book will go unchanged. (Review by Louise Brohm)

This entry was posted in books, historical, religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

