Staff Review: LIfe After Life by Kate Atkinson

lifeafterlifeatkI know my friends and colleagues are tired of hearing me gush about this novel. I can’t exactly tell you why I liked it so much. I like the mood and tone of the writing. I started reading Atkinson previous novel “Case Histories,” and I didn’t like it. “Life After Life” was clever and suspenseful. I couldn’t wait to see what happened to Ursula Todd- who had a vague sense that she was experiencing some bazaar Ground Hog day-like existence. Each time Ursula died and I turned to the next chapter, I was rooting for her! I wanted her to make it, even if it was horrific, and sometimes it was. Would I recommend it to a friend? Um, I think I have, and I think they are all sick of me shaking the book in their face, exclaiming ‘READ IT!’  (review by Heather Gayton)

This entry was posted in historical fiction, literary fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

