First Class Writer, P.D. James

credit/Ulan Montan

credit/Ulan Montan

Author, P.D. James, known as the Queen of Crime Fiction, died last Thursday at the age of 94.   James gave us stellar writing in her 19 novels, including 14 murder mysteries  that included the character she was best known for, Commander Adam Dalgliesh of New Scotland Yard.   Her first novel, Cover Her Face, was published in 1962 and introduced us to the poet-detective protagonist, Dagliesh. While known for her crime fiction, she also wrote the science fiction dystopian novel, Children of Men, which was later adapted into a movie.  At the age of 80, she published her autobiography, A Time to Be Earnest  Death Comes to Pemberly was her last novel  published in 2011, and was a murder mystery that was a continuation  of Jane Austen’s, Pride & Prejudice.  According to James, A first class mystery should also be a first class novel.”  We lost a first class novelist last week.  If you haven’t read any P.D. James,  please give one of her novels a try, you won’t regret it.

This entry was posted in autobiography, books, detective, mystery, science fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s